RSS

7:45 a.m.

20 Apr

Morgan and I were still sleeping.  Last day to sleep in.  Ashley was up and in the living room.

“Mommy someone’s here!!!!!” 

Ding Dong

Crap.  I was sleeping!!!!  No bra, horrible morning breath, bangs sticking up like in Something About Mary and possible eye gunk.

I peered through the blinds and saw an asian woman in pajamas and slippers on my porch.  It took a few seconds to register who it was – Carlton’s mother.

Carlton is a little boy who was in Morgan’s UPK class last year and is in the opposite kindergarten class this year.  He rides her bus.  I knew before she even asked – she thought there was school today 🙂  Poor woman, I wish.

So in broken english (she’s chinese), she explained that she didn’t know and why hadn’t the bus come.  The bus picks her son up 10 minutes earlier.  She was sorry to wake me up.  I told her not to worry about it because I’ve been in her shoes, sort of.  The cancelled day due to the bridge being closed.  I didn’t watch the news and Ashley stood in the driveway waiting for the bus for 15 minutes.  I hate being out of the loop.

I like to complain about spring break and how hard it has been with the kids alone, but if anyone needs school to start again it’s Carlton’s mother.  My kids are a handful, but oh my.  He’s something else.

I told her, “One more day ’til freedom.”  She smiled and nodded, but I don’t know if she understood my meaning 🙂

Yahoo!  One more day, one more day, one more day to suffer go.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2009 in Funny, Kids

 

2 responses to “7:45 a.m.

  1. Rebecca

    April 20, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I hate having to explain something to her. I don’t mind talking to her, but when there is something I need to make sure she understands, I cringe. She is a really nice woman, but I wish her english was better (or I should learn chinese). Carlton was in skating with Emma and we tried to make sure she knew what she needed for the costume. We kind of gave up, but she did well with it. He was the only boy so it didn’t matter if he looked a little different. He didn’t have skate guards and I tried to explain that he needed them, but she just kept laughing and nodding at me. Oh well. I don’t know how he had a blade left by the end of the season. He walked on cement and tile with them even.

     
  2. Jolene

    April 20, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    OMG. I can so picture that. I feel bad for her. It’s almost like being deaf or hard of hearing. I wonder who helps Carlton with homework. Is she the reverend’s wife?

     

Leave a Reply

 
