RSS

Dinner With My Parents

06 Apr

My father invited us over for dinner Sunday.  I was surprised when I got there because he made Thanksgiving in April.  Yes, he made turkey and all the fixins.  That was exciting, but having to deal with my mother was not.  She makes me CRAZY.

I’ll spare you the dysfunctional details of the evening, but I will share one of her many helpful comments.  While showing my mom where the hem of her pants should fall, I turned around to show her where my hem fell.  What did she say?  She said, “You’ve put on weight, haven’t you?”  So I turned around and said, “So have you, about twenty years worth.”  Take that. 

I also used that as an opportunity to lecture her on proper etiquette while in public.  I told her if she felt the urge to make comments about people or their children while at basketball practice, that she would be banned by me.  I wish I had a mini, low voltage taser that I could use on her whenever she’s about to humiliate me. 

Typical visit with my mom. 

At least I got an excellent meal out of it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2009 in Family, Life, Rants

 

2 responses to “Dinner With My Parents

  1. BookMama

    April 6, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Sounds like a perfectly lovely evening. 😉

    Have your parents moved closer? I thought they lived something like three hours away – way too far for regular get-togethers like dinner and the basketball stuff.

     
  2. Jolene

    April 7, 2009 at 10:19 am

    BookMama:

    Nope, they still live in the house I grew up in which is 8 minutes from our house. My sibs and extended family live in NH, 3.5 hours away.

    I’m the only one who stuck around.

     

Leave a Reply

 
