RSS

Buddy Ball

03 Apr

The last two nights I brought Ashley and Morgan to their elementary school gym for buddy ball. It’s a three-week K-2 basketball program to teach beginning basketball skills. Our official youth basketball starts in third grade.

The boys and girls have separate times. There were dozens of boys, but only 8 girls showed up. Funny considering that the high school girls have always killed in basketball. The boys? Not so much.

My father called and put more pressure on me to go because surprise, surprise – he’s coaching with MG. My father and MG coached the girls youth program for 18 years, retiring a few years back. Ashley and Morgan were excited to have him as coach. Morgan had to miss a Daisy meeting, but what could we do? My dad would have been seriously bummed.

My father has been bringing my mother along. My mom and I have a long history of not getting along, so I was sort of dreading having her potentially embarrass me in front of everyone I know. Let’s just say that she isn’t one to hold her tongue or think before speaking. There hasn’t been one time in history wherein she doesn’t do something to make someone cringe – usually me.  I was quite relieved when only a handful of people showed.  Less of an audience.  Also, selfish, I know, I like to talk to the other moms and catch up with them.  Mom pouts when I don’t give her my full attention – ugh.

She’s been okay the last few nights.  Only a few things, so I’ll give her a B for behavior.  She only mentioned out loud that someone was overweight once 🙂  I love when someone who is 220 lbs. points out another’s weight gain.  If that’s not the pot calling the kettle black.

The girls really like basketball.  Ashley likes it more at this point and is doing quite well.  She will be playing next year.  I won’t be surprised if my father and MG coach again.  Ashley would be thrilled.  I don’t know how I feel.  I think it’s easier on many levels to have a non-relative as coach.

I was worried about my mom embarrassing me when it was Morgan who blindsided me last night.  At the end of practice she overheard someone say they were going to get milkshakes at McDonalds and she proceeded to nag and whine and then full out cry hysterically when I said NO!!!!  It was a long and loud drive home.  I’m not mean and I would normally indulge her, but it was 7:30 p.m. on a school night.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2009 in Family, Kids, Life

 

6 responses to “Buddy Ball

  1. Rebecca

    April 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I’m sure your dad must have loved having the girls there with him and it’s great that he is still active with basketball. Does Morgan like it? I’m hoping none of my kids will want to do basketball since I don’t enjoy it and neither does Matt. Emma seems to want to do sports only for the social interaction, not the competition. I think figure skating may be as athletic as she gets. She doesn’t want to dance next year and I’m doing a little dance of joy!

     
  2. Jolene

    April 3, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Rebecca:

    It’s hard to tell what Morgan genuinely likes at this point, but she says she likes it.

    I really don’t care for any sports or activities that take place outside, so basketball is alright with me 🙂

    I thought about dance for Morgan next year only because I feel bad that she won’t have that recital tape to look back on like Ashley. Mother’s guilt.

     
  3. Jennifer

    April 7, 2009 at 9:34 am

    we drove to dance last night. serena had missed school but she was feeling better and i’m worried with the recital coming up and so many missed classes. so anyway, drove to malone just to get there and find out it was cancelled. the furnace was on the frits and way too cold in there. i feel bad for the instructor, second monday she drove from plattsburgh and missed out on her two monday classes.
    serena said she doesn’t want to go anymore. i told her she’ll go to the recital but won’t have to next year, this made her EXTREMELY happy.
    unlike her mother, she is very competitive so i’m sure she’ll want do to sports like her daddy. oh well, easier than dance class.

     
  4. Jolene

    April 7, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Jennifer:

    I would have been so mad. That’s good about Serena willingly giving up dance. Dance sucks. I still feel guilty about Morgan not having a recital experience and video like Ashley. September til May/June is so long.

    I remember you being pretty competitive 🙂

     
  5. Jennifer

    April 7, 2009 at 11:19 am

    i was only that way with you. 🙂 kelly is VERY competitive and always give me a hard time for being so laid back. when the three of us do anything, it’s the two of them fighting it out and me just watching with mild amusement.

     
  6. Jolene

    April 7, 2009 at 11:27 am

    You know, now that you said that…

    Dan and Ashley are like that. They are both so stubborn. Have to have the last word. I learned a long time ago to pick my battles with Ashley. Dan can’t let it go. Board games are torture.

     

Leave a Reply

 
