RSS

Overscheduled & Overwhelmed

15 May

There has been no let up these past few days.  I need a break dear Lord!

Last Friday, Ashley invited me to her school for a Mother’s Day Tea.  I left work early and drove to her school.  They had pictures for us and cookies and iced tea.  Lemonade for the kiddos.  They also had made cards and handprint poems.  We also got to choose carnations to take home.  It was nice for the most part.  I want to remember that instead of the meltdown that inevitably occured at one point.  I will do my best to forget that part.

Saturday we had to attend a graduation party an hour from home.  We rushed around and got everyone ready.  After dropping the kids off at my mother-in-law’s house, we headed out. 

I was dreading it a little bit because it was Dan’s friend and I wouldn’t know many people.  I shouldn’t have worried.  I have the gift of gab and got along fine.  We played volleyball.  That was on Saturday and I still feel like I was run over by something.  I have bruises all over my arms.  Those damn volleyballs are hard.  Whatever happened to Nerf anyway?  It was really fun though.  I’m way too competitive for my own good.  I broke a nail, a vein and I got grass stains all over my jeans.  Now I know why old people just sit on the sidelines and watch 🙂  Just like drinking, it’s fun today, but hellish tomorrow.

Sunday was Mother’s Day.  I guess this day does not apply to me.  I think there should be a day called Wives’ Day.  I always get the s@#t end of the stick.  Sounds selfish, but read on. 

Instead of taking it easy, relaxing and doing what I want, I had to run around and clean and scrub so that I could have my parents over.  Then I was supposed to go with Dan to see his mom and grandma.  I said no way, no how.  I made him take the kids away.  Did I finally have some time to myself?  You bet.  What did I do?  I did laundry, dishes, spring cleaning and rearranged the basement.  The same damn thing I did last year.  Maybe I’ll get to relax on Mother’s Day when I have grandchildren.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2007 in Ashley, Family, Friends, Holidays, Home, Kids, Life, Parenting

 

2 responses to “Overscheduled & Overwhelmed

  1. Jennifer

    May 15, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Too bad the guys get the shaft for Father’s Day. Yeah Right. Men always get the better deal.
    We always do what my Mother and his Mother want for Mother’s Day. But at least it wasn’t too bad on me. I at least got to satisfy my nosiness and see the new gold room.
    Nice picture of you and Ashley. Nice to see you having a nice time together.

     

Leave a Reply

 
